MINUTES OF ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF BOARD OF EDUCATION, SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 172 ADAMS COUNTY, ILLINOIS HELD ON APRIL 26, 2023 Following Final Meeting

Meeting Convened

The Board of Education of School District No. 172, Adams County, Illinois, met in special session on April 26, 2023 following the regular meeting, in the Board of Education Office, Room 214, 1416 Maine Street, Quincy, Illinois, in said school district for the purpose of conducting an Organizational Meeting in accord with the School Code.

Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Member Arns as presiding officer. On the call of the roll, the following members were present and answered to their names: Members Ali, Arns, Brock, McNay, Petty, Sethaler, and Whitfield; and the following member was absent: None. Whereupon the presiding officer declared a quorum was present.

Oath of Office

The Oath of Office, pursuant to statute, was administered to all Board members by Attorney Penn. Board members signed the Oath in open session. The seven oaths were duly filed with the Board Secretary (*Doc. Reg. No. 3804*).

Selection of President Pro Tem and Secretary Pro Tem

Member Petty nominated Member Arns as President Pro Tem. There were no other nominations. Voting for Member Arns as President Pro Tem: Members Ali, Arns, Brock, McNay, Petty, Sethaler, and Whitfield. Whereupon Member Arns was elected President Pro Tem. Kim Wert was appointed as Secretary Pro Tem without objection.

Questions and Comments

President Pro Tem Arns opened the meeting to questions and comments to members of the Board, by members of the public and employees of the district, in compliance with state statutes. There were none.

Election of President

President Pro Tem Arns declared that the first item of business would be the election of a President of the Board. *Member Petty nominated Member Arns. No further names being placed in nomination, nominations were closed.* On the call of the roll for the election of Member Arns as president, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Arns, Brock, McNay, Petty, Sethaler, and Whitfield; and the following members voted Nay: None. Whereupon the President Pro Tem declared Member Arns to be the new President of the Board. President Arns assumed the presiding chair.

Election of Vice-President

President Arns declared that the next item of business would be the election of a Vice President of the Board. *It was moved by Member Arns & Member McNay that Member Petty be elected Vice-President of the Board. No further names being placed in nomination; nominations were closed.* On the call of the roll for the election of Member Petty as vice president, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Arns, Brock, McNay, Petty, Sethaler, and Whitfield; and the following members voted Nay: None. Whereupon the President declared Member Petty to be the new Vice-President of the Board.

Election of Secretary

It was moved by Member Petty and seconded by Member McNay that Kim Wert be elected Secretary of the Board of Education. On the call of the roll, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Arns, Brock, Nichols, Petty, Sethaler, and Whitfield; and the following members voted Nay: None. Whereupon the President declared Kim Wert to be the Secretary of the Board. Secretary Wert assumed the duties of Secretary.

Appointment of Treasurer

It was moved by Member McNay and seconded by Member Arns that Ryan Whicker be appointed Treasurer of the Board of Education. On the call of the roll, the following members vote Aye: Members Ali, Arns, Brock, McNay, Nichols, Petty, Sethaler, and Whitfield; and the following members voted Nay: None. Whereupon the President declared Ryan Whicker to be the Treasurer of the Board.

Reaffirm Time and Place of Regular Meetings-Balance of Fiscal Year

It was moved by Member McNay and seconded by Member Brock that the Regular Meetings of the Board of Education for the balance of the fiscal year be held as shown on "Exhibit A" attached hereto and by reference made a part hereof. On the call of the roll, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Arns, Brock, Nichols, Petty, Sethaler, and Whitfield; and the following members voted Nay: None. Whereupon the President declared the motion carried.

Appointment of IASB Delegate

Member Petty was appointed as the IASB delegate.

Adjournment

At 7:18 p.m., it was moved by Member Ali and seconded by Member Whitfield that the special *meeting adjourn*. On the call of the roll, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Arns, Brock, McNay, Nichols, Petty, Sethaler, and Whitfield; and the following members voted Nay: None. Whereupon the President declared the motion carried the special meeting was duly adjourned.

/s/ Shelley Arns President /s/ Kim Wert Secretary