## FINAL MEETING OF THE OLD BOARD

## MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 172, ADAMS COUNTY, ILLINOIS

## **Held on April 29, 2015**

The Board of Education of School District No. 172, Adams County, Illinois, met in Special Session on April 29, 2015, at 6:00 o'clock p.m., at the office of the Board of Education, 1416 Maine Street, Quincy, Illinois, in said School District.

The meeting was called to order by President Erwin, who directed the Secretary to call the roll. On the call of the roll, the following members were present and answered to their names: Members Ali, Bailey, Erwin, Krause, McNay, and Stone. Whereupon, the President declared that a quorum was present. Member Niekamp was absent.

President Erwin opened the meeting to questions and comments to members of the Board by members of the public and employees of the School District, in compliance with State Statutes. Mr. Jeff Kerkhoff commented on an article from 1975 on the earth's weather patterns and President Grover Cleveland's inaugural address. He thanked outgoing Board members for their service.

It was moved by Member Stone and seconded by Member Bailey to approve the contract with Russell Construction Company, Inc., as construction manager for Quincy High School Addition project at a cost of \$987,000 (Doc. Reg. No. 2771). On the call of the roll, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Bailey, Erwin, Krause, McNay, and Stone; and the following member was absent: Member Niekamp. Whereupon, the President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Member Krause and seconded by Member McNay that the Minutes of the Regular Meeting of April 22, 2015 be approved as submitted. On the call of the roll, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Bailey, Erwin, Krause, McNay, and Stone; and the following member was absent: Member Niekamp. Whereupon, the President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Member McNay and seconded by Member Stone to approve the Resolution Acknowledging Receipt of Canvass Reports and Certificates of Election from the Canvassing Board of Adams County, Illinois for the election held on April 7, 2015 (Doc. Reg. No. 2772). On the call of the roll, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Bailey, Erwin, Krause, McNay, and Stone; and the following member was absent: Member Niekamp. Whereupon the President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Member Stone and seconded by Member McNay to approve the Memorandum of Understanding with Federation of Support Personnel Local 4204 regarding hours works and payment of staff (Doc. Reg. No. 2773). On the call of the roll, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Bailey, Erwin, Krause, McNay, and Stone; and the following member was absent: Member Niekamp. Whereupon the President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Member Krause and seconded by Member Stone to approve the submission of Social and Emotional Learning Grant: Now is the Time – Project AWARE (Advancing Wellness and Resilience in Education) Community Grant. On the call of the roll, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Bailey, Erwin, Krause, McNay, and Stone; and the

following member was absent: Member Niekamp. Whereupon, the President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Member Stone and seconded by Member Ali to approve the QHS Soccer summer trip to Colorado. On the call of the roll, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Bailey, Erwin, Krause, McNay, and Stone; and the following member was absent: Member Niekamp. Whereupon, the President declared the motion carried.

Remaining Business of Old Board – Recognitions and Comments: Superintendent Cobb recognized outgoing Board members Scott Stone, Stephanie Erwin and Bud Niekamp. Former Member Jeff Mays was also recognized and plaques were provided to each member. Member Stone thanked the other members and said it has been a very positive experience and he is proud of this Board's accomplishments. He thanked Bud for 26 years of service to the Board and acknowledged Jeff Mays' contributions to the Board. Superintendent Cobb thanked Steve Krause for stepping in after Mr. Mays' resignation. Member Krause said it has been an honor to serve again. President Erwin said it has been a privilege and a joy to be a part of this Board. She is proud of this Board's achievements, especially the passage of the referendum for new buildings. She sent an email out for all staff as one big family. It has been hard work and taken a lot of time but the ones in the buildings really do all the work. She said she has been bullheaded at times but she has fought hard for what she believes in. She advised new Board members to not let anyone drown out their inner voice and to fight for what they believe in. She said she is looking forward to a break. She wished the next Board the best of luck and to carry on what has been started. Member Ali thanked all Board members and said he appreciates the strides that have been made by this Board.

Andre Landsom, bus driver, presented a school bus bank for Member Niekamp and commented on his 26 years of service. She said the bank has some money in it for fishing. She said Bud was always interested in riding the school buses. Superintendent Cobb will deliver Member Niekamp's plaque and bank to him.

The Secretary then presented the Minutes of the present meeting, including the motion that the Old Board adjourn *sine die*, next to be made.

It was moved by Member Stone and seconded by Member Bailey that the Board approve the Minutes of the present meeting, including the motion that the Old Board adjourn *sine die*, next to be made. On the call of the roll, on the question of approving the Minutes of the present meeting, including the motion that the Old Board of Education adjourn *sine die*, next to be made. On the call of the roll, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Bailey, Erwin, Krause, McNay, and Stone; and the following member was absent: Member Niekamp. Whereupon, the President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Member Stone and seconded by Member Ali that the Old Board of Education adjourn *sine die* and that the new Board of Education convene forthwith immediately following such adjournment. On the call of the roll, the following members voted Aye: Members Ali, Bailey, Erwin, Krause, McNay, and Stone; and the following member was absent: Member Niekamp. Whereupon, the President declared the motion carried and the Old Board of Education duly adjourned *sine die* and announced that the new Board of Education would convene forthwith.

Respectfully submitted,

Secretary